Continuing Education Resources

Connecticut  |  Florida  |  Georgia  |  Illinois  |  Iowa  |  Maryland  |  Nebraska  |  North Carolina  |  OhioSouth Carolina  | Texas

CE / CEU

Continuing Education Hours

Listed are the basic requirements per state for CE / CEU Continuing Education Hours by state and profession: * State laws and regulations can change at any time and vary state to state. Although, we try to provide you with the most current and accurate information available, ultimately it is the responsibility of the licensee to contact their state licensing board to verify licensing renewal requirements and specific requirements for state courses.

Connecticut

Massage:

Renewal:

The renewal is every four years.

Hours:

24 hours every four years. A maximum of 6 hours of 24 hours will be approved for online / self-study. No more than 12 hours can be obtained from programs not approved from the National Certification Board of Therapeutic Massage & Bodywork (NCTMB).

For more information on any of the following, please visit: CT.GOV

Florida

Beauty:

Our Florida CE / CEU Continuing Education Provider license is PVD-478.

Renewal:

Cosmetologist renewal for Group 1 by 10/31/ODD Year. Renewal for Group 2 10/31/EVEN year.

Facial Specialist renewal for Group 1 by 10/31/ODD Year. Renewal for Group 2 10/31/EVEN year.

Full Specialist renewal for Group 1 by 10/31/ODD Year. Renewal for Group 2 10/31/EVEN year.

Nail Specialist renewal for Group 1 by 10/31/ODD Year. Renewal for Group 2 10/31/EVEN year.

Hours:

10 hours total every two years.

Minimum of

• 1 hour HIV / AIDS
• 3 hours of Sanitation and Sterilization
• one-half (.5) OSHA
• one-half (.5) workers’ compensation
• 2 hours of laws and rules
• 1 hour of chemical makeup
• 1 hour of environmental issues
• 1 hour of any subject related to the practice of cosmetology

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Florida State

Georgia

Beauty:

Our Georgia CE / CEU Continuing Education Provider license is CEP-000228.

Renewal:

Barber & Barber II renewal by 12/31 of even numbered years.

Cosmetologist Master renewal by 3/31 of even numbered years.

Esthetician renewal by 8/31 of odd numbered years.

Nail Technician renewal by 8/31 of odd numbered years.

Hair Designer renewal by 9/30 of even numbered years.

Instructor (all in this field) renewal by 8/31 of off numbered years.

 

Hours:

5 hours total. 3 of the 5 hours must be satisfied by a course in health and safety developed or approved by the Board.

Two (2) hours of the total five (5) hours must be in a course previously registered with the Board in any of the following areas:

1. Industry or trade show
2. Health and safety
3. Industry trends
4. Computer skills
5. Business management
6. The area of practice for the type of license held by the licensee
If audited, the licensee shall submit written proof from the CE provider of attendance and/or completion of each CE course submitted for credit.

For more information on the following, please visit: SOSGA

Illinois

Beauty:

Our Illinois CE / CEU Continuing Education Provider license is 190-000811. You do not have to complete CE /CEU hours for your first renewal.

As of January 2020, all BCENT licensees are required to the complete a one-time 1 CE Domestic Violence Course. Additionally, BCENT licensees are to complete 1 CE Sexual Assault / Sexual Harassment Course for each renewal. These hours are included in your total amount of hours due.

 

Cosmetologist:

14 hours every two years. 7 of the 14 hours can be online / self-study. Live or virtual hours are considered hands on. Renewal by 9/30 of each odd year.

 

Esthetician:

10 hours every two years. 5 of the 10 hours can be online / self-study. Live or virtual hours are considered hands on. Renewal by 9/30 of each odd year.

 

Hair Braider:

10 hours every two years. 5 of the 10 hours can be online / self-study. Live or virtual hours are considered hands on. Renewal by 10/31 of each even year.

 

Nail Technician:

10 hours every two years. 5 of the 10 hours can be online / self-study. Live or virtual hours are considered hands on. Renewal by 10/31 of each even year.

 

Cosmetology Instructor:

24 hours every two years. 10 of the 24 hours must be in Educational Psychology, Teaching Methodology, Classroom Management, or other teaching related courses. Renewal by 9/30 of each even year.

 

Esthetician Instructor:

20 hours every two years. 10 of the 20 hours must be in Educational Psychology, Teaching Methodology, Classroom Management, or other teaching related courses. Renewal by 9/30 of each even year.

 

Hair Braider Instructor:

20 hours every two years. 10 of the 20 hours must be in Educational Psychology, Teaching Methodology, Classroom Management, or other teaching related courses. Renewal by 9/30 of each even year.

 

Nail Technician Instructor:

20 hours every two years. 10 of the 20 hours must be in Educational Psychology, Teaching Methodology, Classroom Management, or other teaching related courses. Renewal by 9/30 of each even year.

 

All licensees must renew online before renewal cut off. No reminders will be sent out. Here is a link for requirements and the form for reinstatements.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: IDFPR

Massage:

Our Illinois Massage Therapy CE / CEU Continuing Education Provider license is 245.000087. You do not have to complete CE /CEU hours for your first renewal.

 

Massage Therapist:

24 hours every two years. There must be at least 2 of the 24 hours including ethics. All hours of the 24 required every renewal can be completed online, live virtual or in person. Renewal by 12/31 of each even year. Massage therapists licensed in Illinois but residing and practicing in other states shall comply with the CE requirements set forth in this Section.

 

All licensees must renew online before renewal cut off. No reminders will be sent out. Here is a link for requirements and the form for reinstatements.

 

For more information on any of the following, please visit: IDFPR

Iowa

Beauty:

Renewal:

The biennial continuing education compliance period shall begin on April 1st of one year and end on March 31st two years later.

You do not have to complete CE /CEU hours for your first renewal.

The cosmetology licenses include cosmetologists, electrologists, estheticians, manicurists, nail technicians and instructors.

 

Hours:

One Active Cosmetology Related License:
6 hours of continuing education includes at least 4 hours specific to the licensed discipline and at least 2 hours specific to Iowa cosmetology rules and laws and infection control.

Two Active Cosmetology Related Licenses:
10 hours of continuing education including at least 4 hours specific to the licensed discipline and at least 2 hours specific to Iowa cosmetology rules and laws and infection control.

 

Three Active Cosmetology Related Licenses:

14 hours of continuing education including at least 4 hours specific to the licensed discipline and at least 2 hours specific to Iowa cosmetology rules and laws and infection control.

 

Any above License(s) Plus an Instructor’s License:

In addition to the requirements above, instructors must take 6 hours in teaching methodology.

 

These courses may be in person, online self-study or live / virtual.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Iowa.GOV

Massage:

Renewal:

The biennial continuing education compliance period shall begin on the date the license was granted for two years. Renewal will be before the two-year anniversary date of the initial license granted date.

You do not have to complete CE /CEU hours for your first renewal.

 

Hours:

16 hours every two years. 8 of the 16 hours must be hands-on and a maximum of 8 hours will be approved for online or self-study.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Iowa Massage

Maryland

Massage:

Renewal:

The biennial continuing education compliance period shall begin on the date the license was granted for two years. Renewal will be before the two-year anniversary date of the initial license granted date.

You do not have to complete CE /CEU hours for your first renewal.

 

Hours:

24 hours every two years. 3 of 24 hours in professional ethics or jurisprudence; 3 of 24 hours in communicable disease education this includes AIDS/HIV; 1 hour in diversity or cultural competency; 17 hours in massage related courses as approved by the Board; and a current CPR certificate.

These courses may be completed in live, home study or online format.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Maryland Massage

Nebraska

Beauty:

Cosmetologist:

8 hours every two years. 4 of 8 hours must be learning how to perform the skills or services of your profession. Renewal by 12/31 of each even year.

 

Esthetician:

8 hours every two years. 4 of 8 hours must be learning how to perform the skills or services of your profession. Renewal by 9/30 of each even year.

 

Nail Technician:

8 hours every two years. Renewal by 12/31 of each odd year.

 

Cosmetology Instructor:

8 hours every two years. 4 of the 8 hours must be in Teaching Methodology courses (all 8 hours may be obtained through teaching methodology. Renewal by 12/31 of each even year.

 

Esthetician Instructor:

8 hours every two years. 4 of the 8 hours must be in Teaching Methodology courses (all 8 hours may be obtained through teaching methodology. Renewal by 9/30 of each even year.

 

Nail Technician Instructor:

8 hours every two years. 4 of the 8 hours must be in Teaching Methodology courses (all 8 hours may be obtained through teaching methodology. Renewal by 12/31 of each odd year.

 

Here is a link for requirements and the form for cosmetologist reinstatement form, cosmetologist instructor reinstatement form and esthetician or esthetics instructor reinstatement form.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Nebraska Cosmetology & Esthetics & Nail Technology.

Massage:

16 hours every two years. 8 of 16 hours can be online or electronic media. 8 of 16 hours must be hands on workshops- the hands-on workshop must be 75% hands-on massage technique and up to 25% may be theory related to hands-on technique. For the hands-on workshop there must be a set time for the hands-on practice. 3 of 16 hours must be massage therapy ethics. Non-hands-on approved topics include anatomy, health service management, hygiene, pathology, and physiology. Renewal is 11/1 of each odd year.

Here is a link for requirements and the form for massage reinstatement form.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Nebraska Massage

North Carolina

Beauty:

Cosmetologist:

8 hours per year. At least 50% of the subject matter broadens the knowledge of the cosmetic art profession. 24 hours for renewal total. Renewal by 10/1 every three years starting in 1998.

 

Apprentice:

8 hours per year. At least 50% of the subject matter broadens the knowledge of the cosmetic art profession. Renewal by 10/1 each year.

 

Esthetician:

8 hours per year. At least 50% of the subject matter broadens the knowledge of the cosmetic art profession. Renewal by 10/1 each year.

 

Manicurist:

8 hours per year. At least 50% of the subject matter broadens the knowledge of the cosmetic art profession. Renewal by 10/1 each year.

 

Natural Hair Care Specialist:

8 hours per year. At least 50% of the subject matter broadens the knowledge of the cosmetic art profession. Renewal by 10/1 each year.

 

Instructor or Teacher License:

8 hours per year. At least 50% of the subject matter broadens the teacher training techniques and/or enhances the ability to communicate. 16 hours for renewal total. Renewal by 10/1 every two years.

 

Exemptions: A licenses who is in active practice as a cosmetologist and at least 20 years consecutive years of experience as a cosmetologist can apply for an exemption for continuing education requirement. 20 years work exemption form.

Individuals 60 or older with 10 years of continuous work experience can apply for exemption from CE with exception of the teacher licenses. 60 years of age and 10 years work experience exemption form.

For more information on any of the following, please visit: North Carolina Cosmetic Arts Board

Ohio

Beauty:

Renewal:

License renewal for cosmetologists, a branch of cosmetology, or an instructor license every odd year ending on January 15th at 11:59 pm.

You are required to obtain 4 hours of Board-approved continuing education (CE) biennially if you have an active OH license and it is not your first time renewing the OH license.

 

Hours:

All persons licensed in Ohio as cosmetologists, a branch of cosmetology, and instructors must complete (4) CE hours of Board-approved continuing education.

1 hour – Board Laws & Rules Course: This Course will be applied to multiple licenses. Note: this course is only provided by the Board and available on CE Broker

3 Hours Infection Control & Safety: This Course will be applied to multiple licenses.

To renew you must complete all required CE Hours. Completion of CE hours is reported to CE Broker by the Provider of the CE class. Then Go to https://elicense.ohio.gov log in to your Elicense account and complete the renewal application and submit the required fee(s).

Exemptions: A licenses who is in active practice as a cosmetologist and at least 30 years or more, before October 3, 2024, are NOT required to complete continuing education. Payment of renewal fee IS required to keep license current and active.

Individuals 65 or older, before October 3, 2024, are NOT required to complete continuing education. Payment of renewal fee IS required to keep license current and active.

If this is your first Ohio license, you are not required to obtain CE hours for this renewal period ending January 31. NOTE: An instructors license is not eligible for this exemption. Payment of the renewal fee is required to keep license current and active.

Inactive: Licensees that place their license in an “INACTIVE” status are NOT required to complete CE hours during the time the license is classified as “INACTIVE”. Completion of the required number of CE hours must be completed in order to restore a license to an “ACTIVE” status. To begin the process of restoring an INACTIVE license to an ACTIVE status CLICK HERE

 

Lapsed /Amnesty: If a renewal fee has not been received for two-consecutive renewal periods (4 years), the license will go into a “LAPSED” status. To restore the license to an “ACTIVE” status, the licensee is required to pay back all fees, and obtain up to 24 hours of CE. To begin the process of restoring a LAPSED license to an ACTIVE status CLICK HERE

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Ohio Cosmetology & Barber Board

South Carolina

Beauty:

Renewal:

License renewal for cosmetologists, estheticians, nail technicians and instructors is every odd year ending on March 10th at 11:59 pm.

You are required to obtain 4 hours of Board-approved continuing education (CE) biennially if you have an active SC license and it is not your first time renewing the SC license.

 

Hours:

All persons licensed in South Carolina as cosmetologists, nail technicians and estheticians must show satisfactory evidence of four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education specific to Board laws and regulations, client safety, and/or infection control to include sanitation and disinfection during the licensing period. CE hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.

All persons licensed by the Board as instructors must show satisfactory evidence of having obtained four (4) contact hours of Board-approved continuing education geared toward teaching during the licensing period. These hours may be completed through a Board-approved in-person or online class.

 

For more information on any of the following, please visit: South Carolina Board of Cosmetology

Texas

Beauty:

Our Texas CE / CEU Continuing Education Provider license is 2386.

 

Hours:

You must complete a total of 4 hours of department-approved continuing education courses every two years to renew your license, including:

One hour in sanitation

Three hours of your choice in any of the following topics:

Any topic listed in Section 83.202 of the rules

Sanitation required under the law and rules

The Texas Barbering and Cosmetology law and rules

Mental health awareness

Human trafficking prevention

 

You may not receive continuing education hours for attending the same course more than once. One hour of continuing education is equivalent to 50 minutes of actual instruction time.

 

If you have held a license for at least 15 years, you will only need to complete one hour of department-approved continuing education in sanitation. The additional three hours of continuing education will be waived and will not be required.

 

Barber licensees are exempt from continuing education requirements until 9/1/2025.

 

For more information on any of the following, please visit: Texas State